T minus 3 days

Here we go: First post. Pre-Departure post. Where do I even start?

I’m nervous.

Really freakin’ nervous.

I have been shopping for over a week and a half and I never thought I’d say this but I am so sick of it. And if you know me, you know that’s saying something. Despite the numerous trips back and forth to Target, TJ Maxx, REI and Whole Foods, I still don’t feel completely ready to go. Any time people ask if I’m excited I always quickly respond and say—YES! So pumped!! WOOOO!! Or something along those lines. And it’s true. I am excited. But I’m also nervous and feel rather unprepared, which is weird for me.

I’m the type of person who always has everything planned out. I like planning and being organized but I haven’t been able to do that for this trip. I know that I will be shadowing doctors and conducting some sort of research during the week. But as far as the weekends go, I have no idea. I know where I want to go and what I want to see but I have no idea how I’m going to get there or where I’m going to stay. The lack of logistics makes me a little bit uneasy but it’s fine. Everything is going to be fine.

Despite the lack of logistics, I am amped for this trip. Since 7th grade, my dream has been to become a doctor and open up a clinic somewhere in an underserved area of the world. I finally have the opportunity to take another stride towards this goal and because of that, I couldn’t be more excited.

I know that this trip is going to impact me in a multitude of ways and I can’t believe that it’s almost time to go! T minus 3 days until ya girl leaves for Ghana!!

Leave a Reply

