Feelin’ Peachy

TODAY’S THE DAY! THE SUN IS SHINING! I AM GOING TO GHANA!!

I woke up playing that scene from Finding Nemo over and over again in my head. And just like Peach from this clip, I woke up smiling and then immediately went into panic mode. What if I forgot something? What if I get there and I don’t have something that I NEED? What then? My anxiety was at an all time high. And when I get anxious, I shut down.

The entire ride to the airport I sat silent in the backseat, thinking about what I forgot and trying not to show how scared I actually was. My heart rate was through the roof and I could feel the anxiety making my chest tight. I was on the verge of a panic attack. So I did the only thing that truly calms me down. I opened up the Bible app on my phone and went to Matthew 28:19. The Great Commission: “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit”. This verse always comes to mind when I think about traveling. I’m not necessarily going on a mission trip but I do have the opportunity to go to Ghana and let God use me to serve and love on people there. I’m not entirely sure what that’s going to look like but I will update y’all when it comes to fruition.

At the airport, my parents were stage 5 clingers. They stayed around the security checkpoint and watched me walk through the security line and refused to leave until they couldn’t see me anymore. Even though they were obnoxious, they are the people that I’m going to miss the most and I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. They sent me off with a smile and a laugh and it was everything I needed to melt the anxiety away.

After getting through security and ordering my last Americano from Starbucks, I realized that I was no longer anxious. I was smiling and secretly dancing to the music in my headphones. I am SO PUMPED. This is the only thing that I’ve ever wanted do with my life and it is finally time!!

One thought on “Feelin’ Peachy

Leave a Reply

